We speak Spanish and Russian.
${site.data.firmName}${SEMFirmNameAlt} Law Offices of John Patrick Ryan

Drunk Driving Archives

Drunk driving outlook across the nation

Although many educational and penal approaches have been taken to tackle the problem of drunk driving, California residents likely know that DUI continues to be a significant cause of deaths in motor vehicle accidents. A recent survey conducted by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System has noted that many midwestern states and Hawaii tend to have the highest rates of drunk driving per person. California falls at the lower statistical end of the spectrum in this DUI study.

How California ranks in its drunk driving laws

While the minimum legal drinking age in the United States is 21 and a driver in any state is considered alcohol impaired when having a blood alcohol concentration of .08 percent or higher, there are still many variants in drunk driving rules across the nation. A consumer finance website recently highlighted the differences by analyzing law enforcement rules in all 50 states and the District of Columbia in regards to driving while under the influence.

Plea arrangements for DUI charges in California

A plea bargain is an arrangement where a person who has been charged with a crime agrees to plead guilty to a particular charge in exchange for either a reduction of the charges or of the penalties for conviction. This is something that has to be agreed upon by both the prosecution and the person facing the charges.

Interlock devices after convictions on drunk driving charges

Ignition interlock devices are required for some drivers who have drunk driving convictions in California. For people who must use one of these devices on the vehicles they drive, it is imperative that they understand the purpose of the device and the way it works.

How DUI charges can affect insurance rates

California residents may be interested to hear about how a DUI charge can lead to an increase in insurance rates. Many insurance companies hike up rates even after first DUI charges because of the notion that the drivers have driven drunk before the time of the DUIs. According to data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, on average, first-time offenders have a blood alcohol content of around .16 percent compared to .18 percent for people who have faced DUI arrests in the past. In every state, a BAC of over .08 percent indicates intoxication and increases the risk of an accident.

Cleaning up your record to get a CDL

Under the law AB-60, which took effect January 1, 2015, it is now possible for undocumented persons who can prove their identities, establish California residency and comply with other requirements, to receive a California driver license ("CDL"). Many of my clients are taking advantage of this excellent opportunity.

Defenses to DUI in California

There are several ways to defend against a California DUI charge. One of the most popular methods is to challenge the validity or legality of the initial stop and whether the officer had reasonable probable cause to pull over the driver. Another is to question whether sampling or performance tests were performed correctly and interpreted accurately using properly functioning equipment. However, there are certain factual defenses which may lessen or eliminate the charge altogether.

Man charged with DUI at drive-thru

A California man was recently taken into custody by police in Madera after reportedly falling asleep in a drive-thru lane. Authorities in the area allege that his blood alcohol content measured at .16 percent, which is twice the legal limit of .08 percent. The man also reportedly failed the field sobriety test to which he was subjected.

California checkpoint results in DUI charges, impounded vehicles

Police in California took one driver into custody as a result of a DUI checkpoint, according to reports. Officers conducted the checkpoint from 7 p.m. on Dec 27 to 2 a.m. on Dec. 28 on the 1900 block of Ming Ave. in Bakersfield. The DUI checkpoint resulted in one driver being detained under suspicion of drunk driving. However, officers said that they identified 25 drivers who had no valid driver's license. Nine of those drivers were reportedly operating their vehicles with a suspended license, and 12 vehicles were impounded at the checkpoint. A sergeant from the Bakersfield Police Department said that 659 vehicles were screened at the checkpoint.

Office Location

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

220 South Mooney Boulevard
Suite A
Visalia, CA 93291

Phone: 559-302-9684
Map & Directions

Spanish & Russian Language
Services Available
Se Habla Español
Говорим по-русски